Concord Yacht Club has a rich history in the Knoxville community, beginning with the start of organized sailing on Fort Loudoun Lake about 1947 under the auspices of the Oak Ridge Power Squadron. They launched at Concord Boat Dock, lowering masts to clear the Northshore Drive Bridge. Several years later, moorings were set “outside” of Concord Park. The first race was recorded as having taken place on June 19, 1948, with the first Annual Awards Banquet at the historic Park Hotel in Clinton.
Concord Yacht Club was incorporated in October 1951 as a non-profit Tennessee Corporation, located on property acquired by TVA in association with the Loudoun Dam Construction Program. Prior to 1951 the site had been used as a seaplane school, which included a seaplane ramp and a Quonset hut that was used for a clubhouse. TVA later donated the property to Knox County for recreational use from which CYC now leases the property. The club continues operations on this same site today.
Volunteer efforts of the founders and subsequent “generations” of CYC club members have added docks, moorings, and other facilities, with members working together to maintain and improve the clubhouse, docks, and grounds. The year of the Club’s 50th anniversary a new clubhouse was constructed. Various initiatives and projects have contributed greatly to the camaraderie among its members.
CYC has several outreach programs to promote sailing in the Greater Knoxville Community. This effort includes a family sailing program, a summer sailing day-camp, adult learn to sail programs, adult keelboat handling classes, University of Tennessee sailing team, Sea Scout Ship 300, part of the Boy Scouts of America, and a high school sailing program. For these programs, CYC has provided at considerable expense fleets including Opti’s, JY-15’s, Sunfish, Catalina 22’s and other keelboats, race committee and safety boats and extensive equipment to maintain the highest quality inland sailboat racing and education programs.